Cover of Dead Man Deep

Dead Man Deep

Nothing stays buried forever

Lifeboat volunteer DI Shona Oliver receives a Mayday call coming from Kilcatrin Island. Upon the beach is the badly burned body of a man, and a boy lies gravely injured nearby. Strewn around them are scores of Second World War incendiary bombs, presumably washed up by the tide from Beaufort’s Dyke, an offshore arms dump deep in the Irish Sea.

The dead man is a local fisherman – his son the other victim – and it rocks the tight-knit community on the shores of the Solway Firth. As lead detective, Shona has to maintain a professional distance. But she can’t ignore the hardship that her neighbours who make a living at sea are experiencing. Anger is directed at the Ministry of Defence when the fallout threatens tourism, and livelihoods including Shona’s own family B&B business are at risk.

Suspicious behaviour seems to be found at every turn. It’s impossible for Shona to get to the truth unless she can gain the trust of those who know more than they’ve been willing to reveal. But blind loyalty may mean she’s too late to save those still in danger – including herself.

The second instalment in an exciting new Scottish crime series featuring a detective with nerves of steel. Perfect for fans of Neil Lancaster, G. R. Halliday and Ann Cleeves.

Praise for Dead Man Deep

A real cracker of a book. Combining police procedural with the perils of volunteer lifeboat crew and some dodgy MOD arms dumping thrown in for good measure...’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

‘I absolutely loved this book. So much so I read it in one sitting. The twists kept the pages turning and left me shocked at the end. I definitely recommend this series to all crime fiction fans!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

Fun page turner, this one will have you pining for the Scottish coast!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

A very well-written and likeable character… this had the makings of a cracking series.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

‘Shona Oliver is flawed but hard working and always with good intentions. Lynne McEwan has created a captivating character and I hope more books follow!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

Excellent storyline and characters, so what more do you need? The next title can’t come quickly enough.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

‘A riveting Scottish police procedural.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

Where to Buy

Paperback

ISBN: 9781800324343

Publication Date:

Ebook

ISBN: 9781800324336

Publication Date:

Share this book